Categorized | Basketball, Sports

Results of the HI-PAL 2014 Winter Basketball Classic Tournament


Four hundred forty-four youth, ages 5 to 14, participated in the 34th Annual Hawaiʻi Police Activities League (HI-PAL) 2014 Winter Basketball Classic Tournament held December 26-29 in Hilo. A total of 47 teams participated in the seven divisions with games played at Edith Kanakaole Indoor Tennis Stadium, Kawananakoa Gym, Hilo Armory and the Afook-Chinen Civic Auditorium.

In the age 5-6 Division, the Warriors took first place over the Andrews Hawks with the Piopio Bears taking third place. The Warriors team included Rayden Handy, Kawohi Huihui, Keinen Ignacio-Mattos, Kaiea Petersen and Zoe Silva.

Man Up defeated the Andrews Hawks in the championship game with an 8-2 win in the 8 and Under Division that included 10 teams. Members of the champion Man Up team included Jaiden Lee Gabriel, Kamani Galdeira, Tyler Kaohu, Brayden Malani, Jason Mandaquit, Jr., Jaziah Oili and Peyton Pana.

NSP Gold edged out Ballaz Inc. in overtime for a 12-10 finish for third place.

Ballaz Inc. edged Shut D 41-39 to take the 10 and Under Division title. Kierstyn Agonias led the Ballaz with 16 points and Keiza-Tre Walker scored 14 for Shut D. Members of the champion Ballaz Team included Agonias, Ryder Cabreros, Kaki Deperalta-Huihui, Logan Enos, Veda-Lynne Galima, Irish Grahorac, Kaleb Guerrero, Rayson Padilla and Treyston Une.

Man Up finished third.

Hoop Dreams out-gunned Shut D 41-29 to claim the 12 and Under Boys Division title. Keegan Scanlan pumped in 13 points to lead the champions while Javon Motta paced the runners-up with 13. Members of the champion Hoop Dreams team included Scanlan, Kiaʻi Apele, Kekaukahi Alameda, Kawai Kiko, Shesley Martinez, Guyson Ogata and Kaupena Yasso.

Kona Stingrays defeated Keaʻau Ballistic 36-30 for third place.

In the 14 and Under Boys finals, the Kona Stingrays edged Keaʻau Ballistic 38-36 behind Quinten Hanato’s 12 points. Patrick Meurs led Ballistic with 14 points. Members of the champion Stingrays included Hanato, Tito Cabico, Aldrin Gadot, Tyler Jacinto, Jarvis Kalili, Kaleb Medeiros, Orion Smith and Tanniya Uchida.

Hoop Dreams Black defeated Hoop Dreams Gold 36-33 for third place. Noah Bredeson led Hoop Dreams Black with 10 points while Keawe Silva scored 10 for Hoop Dreams Gold.

In the girls divisions, Kona Stingrays, behind Gracie Hing’s 12 points, defeated Fly Girls 37-26 to claim the 12 and Under Girls title and Wahine Ryders, led by Jamila Collins-Ebanez 15 points, ran past Stray-Kats 45-31 to claim the 14 and Under Girls title.

Members of the champion Stingrays included Hing, Cassie Alapai, Lainie Alapai, Peyton Haleamau, Kelsie Imai, Gabby Kaipo, Iolani Kamekau, Caiyle Kaupu, Jayla Tadeo-Jose and Anastasia Tuifua.

Members of the champion Wahine Ryders included Collins-Ebanez, Kierstyn Agonias, Hannah Cabreros, Veda-Lynne Galima, Madison Hwang, Mindy Kawaha, Zaelynn Liu, Keani Midel, Teijah Rosas and Jyneth Schnacke.

HI-PAL and the Department of Parks and Recreation staff would like to thank all of the participants, coaches, families, friends and other supporters of the teams for making this 34th event another success. We also want to recognize and thank the tournament referees and officials for their time and commitment to providing a worthy event for our youth.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



%d bloggers like this: