Categorized | Education

Parker debaters win two trophies, break state record


On Nov. 22, 38 Parker School debaters competed alongside 14 schools in the University Lab School Debate Non-Qualifying Tournament on Oahu.

The Big Island school returned home victorious with two sweepstakes trophies: one for the largest number of ballots won (94 versus Punahou School’s second-place 68) and one for the highest percentage of ballots won, tying with Iolani School. 94 is the highest total number of ballots won ever recorded in a Hawaii Speech League non-qualifying tournament, breaking the record of 88 set last year by Parker School.

The top finishers for Parker School were: Dash Cotton in Championship Lincoln-Douglas with a 6-0 score; Sean Dunnington and Anna McFarland in Beginning Public Forum Debate (6-0); Josh Yost and Kosuke Kume in Junior Varsity Policy Debate (6-0); Carrie Hiller in Championship Lincoln-Douglas Debate (5-1); Maia Tarnas and Michael Note in Advanced Public Forum Debate (5-1); Kyra Matsuda and Ian Bond in Varsity Policy Debate (5-1); and in Junior Varsity Policy Debate, the teams of Bradley Smith and Susie Krall, Kirk Hubbard and Braedon Ingalls, and Macie Note and Zoe Vann all received a 5-1 score.

A total of 25 Parker debaters earned certificates for superior performance in the tournament. These certificates are given out to those competitors who win two-thirds of their rounds. The Parker debate team will next compete at the Punahou School Speech and Debate Non-Qualifying Tournament on Oahu on December 20.

— Find out more:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RSS Weather Alerts

  • An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.