Categorized | Government, News

House, Senate leadership teams named for Legislature 2015


House Speaker Joseph M. Souki has announced the appointments of the House of Representatives Majority leadership lineup for the 28th Legislature which convenes Jan. 21, 2015.

“The team that we have formed represents the kind of talents and abilities that will best serve our residents and will address the issues facing our state,” Souki said. “We look forward to engaging in meaningful discussions with Governor-elect David Ige and his administration to continue to identify ideas and solutions to help Hawaii move forward.”

Members of the House Leadership are as follows:

· Speaker of the House
Joseph M. Souki

· Vice Speaker
John M. Mizuno

· Majority Leader
Scott K. Saiki

· Majority Floor Leader
Cindy Evans

· Majority Whip
Ken Ito

· Asst. Majority Leader
Chris Lee

· Asst. Majority Leader
Roy M. Takumi

· Speaker Emeritus
Calvin K.Y. Say

2015 House Committee Chairpersons:

· Agriculture (AGR)

Clift Tsuji, Chair

Richard H.K. Onishi, Vice Chair

· Economic Development & Business (EDB)

Derek S.K. Kawakami, Chair

Sam Kong, Vice Chair

· Veterans, Military & International Affairs (VMI)

Romy M. Cachola, Chair

Ken Ito, Vice Chair

· Tourism & Culture and the Arts (TCA)

Tom Brower, Chair

Takashi Ohno, Vice Chair

· Labor & Public Employment (LAB)

Mark M. Nakashima, Chair

Jarrett Keohokalole, Vice Chair

· Public Safety (PBS)

Gregg Takayama, Chair

Kyle T. Yamashita, Vice Chair

· Transportation, (TRN)

Henry J.C. Aquino, Chair

Matthew LoPresti, Vice Chair

· Health (HLT)

Della Au Belatti, Chair

Dee Morikawa, Vice Chair

· Housing (HSG)

Mark J. Hashem, Chair

Richard Creagan, Vice Chair

· Human Services (HUS)

Mele Carroll, Chair

Bertrand Kobayashi, Vice Chair

· Energy & Environmental Protection (EEP)

Chris Lee, Chair

Nicole E. Lowen, Vice Chair

· Ocean, Marine Resources & Hawaiian Affairs (OMH)

Kaniela Ing, Chair

Nicole E. Lowen, Vice Chair

· Water & Land (WAL)

Ryan I. Yamane, Chair

Ty J.K. Cullen, Vice Chair

· Education (EDN)

Roy M. Takumi, Chair

Takashi Ohno, Vice Chair

· Higher Education, (HED)

Isaac W. Choy, Chair

Linda Ichiyama, Vice Chair

· Finance (FIN)

Sylvia Luke, Chair

Scott Y. Nishimoto, Vice Chair

· Legislative Management (LMG)

Scott Y. Nishimoto, Chair

John M. Mizuno, Vice Chair

· Consumer Protection & Commerce (CPC)

Angus L.K. McKelvey, Chair

Justin H. Woodson, Vice Chair

· Judiciary (JUD)

Karl Rhoads, Chair

Joy San Buenaventura, Vice Chair

Senate Leadership Team and Committee Chairs for the 28th Legislature

The Hawaii State Senate has selected Donna Mercado Kim to continue as Senate President for the 28th Legislature.

“I appreciate the confidence the members have in my leadership and I am pleased that we were able to organize so quickly,” said Senate President Kim (D-14 Kapalama, Alewa, Kalihi Valley, Ft. Shafter, Moanalua Gardens & Valley, portions of Halawa and ‘Aiea). “This is a strong leadership team that will waste no time in preparing for the upcoming legislative session.”

Sen. Will Espero (D-19 Ewa Beach, Ocean Pointe, Ewa by Gentry, Iroquois Point, portion of Ewa Villages) will serve as Vice President and will continue to chair the Public Safety, Intergovernmental and Military Affairs committee.

Sen. Jill Tokuda (D-24 Kaneohe, Kaneohe MCAB, Kailua, Heeia, Ahuimanu) will chair the Ways & Means Committee and Sen. Ron Kouchi will serve as the Vice Chair.

Sen. J. Kalani English (D-7 Hana, East and Upcountry Maui, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe) assumes the Majority Leader position.

“Our State continues to face a number of fiscal challenges, and the Senate Majority stands ready to work with both the House and the Ige administration to address these issues and help Hawaii families,” Tokuda said.

“The Senate will focus on sustainability and resiliency as an overall theme for the next legislature,” added English. “We will work diligently to ensure that all of Hawaii’s people move forward together.”

The State Senate leadership and committee chairs are as follows:

President – Donna Mercado Kim

Vice President – Will Espero

Majority Leader – J. Kalani English

Floor Leader – Josh Green

Caucus Leader – Gil Kahele

Policy Leader – Les Ihara, Jr.

Majority Whip – Brian Taniguchi

Ways & Means – Jill Tokuda

Ways & Means, Vice Chair – Ron Kouchi

Judiciary & Labor – Gil Keith-Agaran

Consumer Protection – Roz Baker

Hawaiian Affairs – Maile Shimabukuro

Education – Michelle Kidani

Health – Josh Green

Economic Development and Technology – Glenn Wakai

Water and Land – Laura Thielen

Tourism and International Affairs – Gilbert Kahele

Human Services and Housing – Suzanne Chun Oakland

Higher Education and the Arts – Brian Taniguchi

Government Operations – Donovan Dela Cruz

Public Safety, Intergovernmental

and Military Affairs – Will Espero

Energy and Environment – Mike Gabbard

Agriculture – Russell Ruderman

Transportation – Clarence Nishihara

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Become a fan on facebook


%d bloggers like this: