Categorized | News

Third Circuit District Court nominees announced


Under the Constitution of the State of Hawaii, Article VI, Appointment of Justices and Judges, Section 3: “The chief justice, with the consent of the Senate, shall fill a vacancy in the district courts by appointing a person from a list of not less than six nominees for the vacancy presented by the judicial selection commission.”

The Judicial Selection Commission is pleased to announce the nominees for the vacancy in the District Court of the Third Circuit (island of Hawaiʻi), State of Hawaii.

The judicial office has been vacant since the retirement of former District Judge Joseph P. Florendo, Jr.

The nominees for the judicial office in the District Court of the Third Circuit are listed as follows in alphabetical order:

* Jeffery N. Burleson
* Wendy M. DeWeese
* Margaret K. Masunaga
* Michael H. Schlueter
* Cynthia T. Tai
* Kimberly B. M. Taniyama

The Chief Justice has 30 days from his receipt of the list today to make his appointment.


Total Applicants: 12; 5 Females; 7 Males
Government Attorneys: 8
Private Attorneys: 4
Age Range: (31-40) 2; (41-50) 4; (51-60) 5; 61-70) 1 Years Licensed Range: 6 years to 26 years.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RSS Weather Alerts

  • An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.