Categorized | Featured, Golf, Sports

UH-Hilo claims 2014 PacWest Men’s Golf Conference title

Head Coach Earl Tamiya, Kyeton Littel, Chris Shimomura, Dalen Yamauchi, Corey Kozuma, Christian Agosto and Assistant Coach Ron Takahashi. Photo courtesy of UH-Hilo

Head Coach Earl Tamiya, Kyeton Littel, Chris Shimomura, Dalen Yamauchi, Corey Kozuma, Christian Agosto and Assistant Coach Ron Takahashi. Photo courtesy of UH-Hilo


The University of Hawaii at Hilo captured the title at the 2014 Men’s Golf Championship, shooting a 301 in the final round to finish at 887 overall. The Vulcans shot the best third round to claim their first PacWest crown since 2011.

For the second-straight season, the individual title came down to a playoff as Dixie State’s Kenny You and Dominican’s Mark Milton tied at 218 after 54 holes and went back to the 18th to break the tie. You hit his tee shot out of bounds and had to take a drop, giving him four strokes to reach the green. Milton managed to overcome the sand trap on his second shot and two-putt his way to the win.

You did not go home empty-handed, however, as he was voted the PacWest Player of the Year by the league’s coaches. Dominican’s Drew Nelson was named PacWest Freshman of the Year, and finished his first PacWest Championship in seventh place (223). Dixie State head coach Brad Sutterfield was named PacWest Coach of the Year in just his second season with the program.

UHH carried the momentum from an impressive second round yesterday to finish strong on Saturday. Four Vulcans finished in the top-10, earning All-PacWest honors. Dalen Yamauchi was the top finisher at third (219) after matching his second round score of a 1-under 71. Kyeton Little finished fifth (221), with Chris Shimomura one stroke behind in him sixth (222). Corey Kozuma tied for ninth (225) and Christian Agosto tied for 27th (239).

Dixie State held off a late charge by Dominican to come in second place. The Red Storm improved on its second-place finish from last season, as all five players finished in the top-40. Hayden Christensen earned first-team All-PacWest honors with a fourth-place finish (220), just two strokes off the lead.

PacWest Player of Year – Kenny You (Dixie State)
PacWest Freshman of Year – Drew Nelson (Dominican)
PacWest Coach of the Year – Brad Sutterfield (Dixie State)

All-PacWest First Team
Mark Milton (Dominican)
Kenny You (Dixie State)
Dalen Yamauchi (UH Hilo)
Hayden Christensen (Dixie State)
Kyeton Littel (Dixie State)
Chris Shimomura (UH Hilo)
Drew Nelson (Dominican)

All-PacWest Second Team
Alberto “Dago” Esponda (Academy of Art)
Corey Kozuma (UH Hilo)
Tai Kuida (California Baptist)
Tommaso Vielmo (Academy of Art)
James Fawssett (Hawaii Pacific)
Alex Bellville (Notre Dame de Namur)
Mike Klem (BYU-Hawaii)

Team Results

Pos.Team/Player (seed)Rd 1Rd 2Rd 3Total
3Dalen Yamauchi (2)777171219
5Kyeton Littel (3)747077221
6Chris Shimomura (4)747474222
T9Corey Kozuma (1)757179225
T27Christian Agosto (5)778082239
2Dixie State College295302310907
T1Kenny You (1)687575218
4Hayden Christensen (2)757570220
T15Cody Wass (4)747483231
T35Skylar Schone (5)788085243
38Connor Van Gilder (3)857882245
3Dominican (CA)299303309911
T1Mark Milton (2)687575218
7Drew Nelson (1)736981223
17Joey Saad (3)758178234
19Hussain Ali (4)837875236
50Sean Kawaguchi (5)889094272
4Academy of Art University303299324926
8Alberto Esponda (2)777176224
11Tommaso Vielmo (5)717680227
T23Eugene Wang (1)778081238
31Cody Moore (3)787588241
T40Dat Do (4)837787247
5California Baptist315308309932
T9Tai Kuida (2)777375225
18Fredrik Hansson (5)767980235
T23Steven Watson (1)828076238
T27Neil Hand (4)857678239
T32Micah Machado (3)808082242
T13Mike Klem (3)777479230
T15Bowen Prestwich (4)797676231
T20Matthew Jensen (1)787782237
T32Federico Clausen (2)788183242
47Zach Janiec (5)838785255
7Chaminade University309310322941
T20David Kirk (2)747984237
T27Justin Taparra (5)797486239
30Spencer Ewart (1)728880240
T32Trey Render (4)898073242
39Jarin Harada (3)847785246
8Hawaii Pacific303315335953
12James Fawssett (1)697584228
T23Ian Boat (3)817780238
T40Andy Rodby (2)857884247
T40Kevin Goldstein (4)748687247
49Alec Fourie (5)798593257
9Notre Dame De Namur318325321964
T13Alex Bellville (1)757976230
T35Ken Miyata (2)778185243
43Schyler Murakami (3)897882249
44Aaron Tom (5)828782251
T45Mark Uekawa (4)848981254
10Holy Names University320319326965
T20Pedro Oviedo (1)767982237
T23Sebastian Ugalde (3)747688238
37Marco Fratini (2)838081244
T45Shane Favinger (4)878879254
48Zachary Kaneshiro (5)888484256


Individual Players

T2T1Mark MiltonDominican (CA)687575 (F)218+2
T2T1Kenny YouDixie State College687575 (F)218+2
T83Dalen YamauchiHawaii-Hilo777171 (F)219+3
T124Hayden ChristensenDixie State College757570 (F)220+4
T45Kyeton LittelHawaii-Hilo747077 (F)221+5
T86Chris ShimomuraHawaii-Hilo747474 (F)222+6
17Drew NelsonDominican (CA)736981 (F)223+7
T88Alberto EspondaAcademy of Art University777176 (F)224+8
6T9Corey KozumaHawaii-Hilo757179 (F)225+9
T12T9Tai KuidaCalifornia Baptist777375 (F)225+9
711Tommaso VielmoAcademy of Art University717680 (F)227+11
T412James FawssettHawaii Pacific697584 (F)228+12
15T13Mike KlemBYU-Hawaii777479 (F)230+14
T19T13Alex BellvilleNotre Dame De Namur757976 (F)230+14
T21T15Bowen PrestwichBYU-Hawaii797676 (F)231+15
T8T15Cody WassDixie State College747483 (F)231+15
T1917Joey SaadDominican (CA)758178 (F)234+18
T2118Fredrik HanssonCalifornia Baptist767980 (F)235+19
T3519Hussain AliDominican (CA)837875 (F)236+20
T16T20David KirkChaminade University747984 (F)237+21
T21T20Matthew JensenBYU-Hawaii787782 (F)237+21
T21T20Pedro OviedoHoly Names University767982 (F)237+21
T27T23Ian BoatHawaii Pacific817780 (F)238+22
38T23Steven WatsonCalifornia Baptist828076 (F)238+22
T12T23Sebastian UgaldeHoly Names University747688 (F)238+22
T25T23Eugene WangAcademy of Art University778081 (F)238+22
T16T27Justin TaparraChaminade University797486 (F)239+23
T25T27Christian AgostoHawaii-Hilo778082 (F)239+23
T35T27Neil HandCalifornia Baptist857678 (F)239+23
T3130Spencer EwartChaminade University728880 (F)240+24
T1631Cody MooreAcademy of Art University787588 (F)241+25
T31T32Micah MachadoCalifornia Baptist808082 (F)242+26
T44T32Trey RenderChaminade University898073 (F)242+26
30T32Federico ClausenBYU-Hawaii788183 (F)242+26
T27T35Ken MiyataNotre Dame De Namur778185 (F)243+27
T27T35Skylar SchoneDixie State College788085 (F)243+27
T3937Marco FratiniHoly Names University838081 (F)244+28
T3938Connor Van GilderDixie State College857882 (F)245+29
T3539Jarin HaradaChaminade University847785 (F)246+30
T31T40Dat DoAcademy of Art University837787 (F)247+31
T39T40Andy RodbyHawaii Pacific857884 (F)247+31
T31T40Kevin GoldsteinHawaii Pacific748687 (F)247+31
4343Schyler MurakamiNotre Dame De Namur897882 (F)249+33
T4444Aaron TomNotre Dame De Namur828782 (F)251+35
49T45Shane FavingerHoly Names University878879 (F)254+38
48T45Mark UekawaNotre Dame De Namur848981 (F)254+38
4647Zach JaniecBYU-Hawaii838785 (F)255+39
4748Zachary KaneshiroHoly Names University888484 (F)256+40
4249Alec FourieHawaii Pacific798593 (F)257+41
5050Sean KawaguchiDominican (CA)889094 (F)272+56

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RSS Weather Alerts

  • An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.