Categorized | Government, News

Akaka to serve as honorary chair for Hanabusa campaign


Retired Sen. Daniel K. Akaka will serve as honorary statewide chairman for U.S. Rep. Colleen Hanabusa’s campaign for the U.S. Senate, joining a growing list of community leaders from across the state who are coming together to support Colleen’s vision for the future of Hawaii.

The county chairs will help coordinate community outreach and organize the Hanabusa for Hawaii network throughout the state.

“We need a proven, experienced legislator and leader in the U.S. Senate to represent our Hawaii values, listen to to our people and deliver the federal resources we need to build a better future for our families. I worked with Colleen when she served in the state Senate and in the Hawaii congressional delegation. She proved herself to be the leader Hawaii needs and someone who has deep knowledge and experience working within the legislative process. She will bridge Hawaii’s past with our present and work with the people to secure our future,” Akaka said.

“A big mahalo to all of our community leaders who are lending their time and effort to our campaign. I am deeply humbled to have their support and grateful for their help reaching out to our communities. This campaign belongs to the people and we could not do this without their help. We are traveling around the state, listening to the people and understanding their concerns to be sure that we are representing them with respect while honoring their values,” Hanabusa said.

“We are excited by the support we are receiving from all around the state. Our campaign is working hard to elect a Senator who will represent all of Hawaii’s people while collaborating in a bipartisan fashion to deliver federal resources and services to our state. All of our chairs are committed to Colleen and believe she is the proven leader who will bring a fresh perspective and approach to representing Hawaii in the U.S. Senate,” said Cameron Nekota, Chairman, Hanabusa for Hawaii.

The primary election is Aug. 9, 2014 and is the first opportunity Hawaii voters have to select their next U.S. Senator. Absentee walk in voting begins July 28 and runs through Aug. 7.

Applications for mail-in Absentee Voter Ballots must be received by the City/County Clerk where you reside no later than Aug. 2.


Honorary Chair: Senator Daniel K. Akaka

Co-Chair: Walter A. Dods Jr.

Co-Chair: Cameron Nekota


Belinda Aquino PhD

Dr. Cecile Sebastian


Hawaii Island Chair: Russell Kokubun

Kona Chair: Michael Matsukawa

Hilo Chair: Dr. Ruth Matsuura


Chair: G. Riki Hokama


Co-Chair: Ian Chan Hodges

Co-Chair: Lloyd Sodetani


Co-Chair: Blossom Poepoe

Co-Chair: Lynn Decoitte


Honorary Co-Chair: Warren Haruki

Honorary Co-Chair: Alfred Laureta

Honorary Co-Chair: Ron Sakoda

Honorary Co-Chair: Mary Thrones

Co-Chair – Roy Nishida

Co-Chair – Marissa Sandblom

Treasurer – Reiko Matsuyama

Secretary – Kris Nakamura

— Find out more:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: