Categorized | Education

Parker School wins debate sweepstakes trophy


The Parker School debate team, the current state champions, won the sweepstakes trophy Oct. 12 at the Debate Non-Qualifying Tournament at University Lab School on Oahu.

The sweepstakes trophy goes to the school with the largest number of winning ballots and Parker, one of 13 schools that participated in the tournament, finished with 81 winning ballots. Punahou came in second with 40.

Of the 32 Parker School debaters, 27 received a certificate attesting to a “superior” rating for the tournament.

The top Parker finishers were as follows: the teams of Michael Note and Maia Tarnas, Luke Potter and Jaren Ashcraft, and Nya Phillips and Kyley Nishimura, all scored 5-1 in Advanced Public Forum Debate; Dash Cotton scored 6-0 and Savannah Harriman-Pote, 5-1, in Novice Lincoln-Douglas Debate; and Josh Yost, Carrie Hiller and Sivan Najita, all scored 5-1 in Championship Lincoln-Douglas Debate.

Parker Headmaster Carl Sturges, also the school’s debate coach, said, “I’m very impressed with the competitive attitude that our kids are bringing to interscholastic debate. Their desire to win makes them work hard to prepare for tournaments.”

The next tournament is Nov. 16 at St. Louis School on Oahu.

— Find out more:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RSS Weather Alerts

  • An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.