Success at Special Olympics Big Island Bocce competition

Photography by Roya Sabri | Hawaii 24/7

“Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt.”

On July 20, athletes lined up to recite the Special Olympics oath before commencing soccer and bocce ball games on the south field of Kona’s Old Airport Park.

Forty-four bocce ball athletes competed in the Big Island Bocce competition for ribbons and to place themselves for the state ‘Aukake Classic state championship. Later, athletes competed in unified games.

The East Hawaii (EH) and West Hawaii (WH) teams will continue training until the championship, held in Honolulu, July 17 to 18.

Sandie DelaCruz, area director for Special Olympics West Hawaii thanked coaches, volunteers and families for their help. “It wouldn’t have happened without them,” she said.

Volunteer organizations included: Boy Scouts, Knights of Columbus, Shorebreak church and Keauhou Canoe Club.

— To contribute to travel expenses, equipment or training contact Sandie:

Results of the morning Bocce Ball games

Court 1
1st place — EH Butterfly Girls Ashley Benevides and Sandy Cordeiro-Gaspar
2nd place — WH Kona Manta Rays Dara Sabri and Ray Donager
3rd place — WH Kona Krushers Adrian Cleintuar and Nancyn Honma
4th place — WH Kona Lions Shawn Lehano and Isaiah Wong

Court 2
1st place — WH Kona Hawks Joshua Penner and Lois Phillip
2nd place — WH Midnight Riders Edward AhSing and Alson Pestrello
3rd place — WH Cookie Monsters Michael Makanui and Shannon Salas
4th place — EH Rose Buds Michelle Pierce and Roxanne Ramones

Court 3
1st place — WH Kona Tigers Edna Phillip and Mananino Takahashi-Ruiz
2nd place — EH TMNT Tim Chee and Joshua Yonemura
3rd place — EH Hibiscus Vivan Oliveira and Elsie Yoshioka
4th place — WH Kona Dolphins Lendon Cariaga-Ventura and Lindsey Miedema

Court 4
1st place — WH Kona Geckos David Goodrich and Joseph Schwartz
2nd place — EH Honus Tasha Sanchez and Ehleeboy Umayas
3rd place — EH Hilo Rains Dana Feldner and Maja Gonya

Court 5
1st place — EH Red Stars Gail Belaski an Omak Moses
2nd place — EH Magic Bankok Mike Kimoto and Teresa Moore
3rd place — EH Double Monkeys Darwin Nagamine and Cindy Uchida
4th place — WH Kona Bears Matthew Crabtree and Noah Wilson

Court 6
1st place — EH Amigos Don Ching and Jeffrey Macaysa
2nd place — EH Optimus Prime John Guillermo and Kalaemakani Licoan-Kalani
and EH Skulls Arnold Kahaunaele and Robert Reny-Wong

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RSS Weather Alerts

  • An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.