Categorized | Environment

Marine sanctuary appoints new advisory council members


Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary announced eight primary and six alternate non-governmental members to serve on its sanctuary advisory council.

The new appointees bring a valuable range of experience to the council, which provides sanctuary managers with input and recommendations on sanctuary programs and management.

Serving in a volunteer capacity, the council members meet several times per year in public sessions, and represent a variety of local user groups, as well as the general public. Non-governmental sanctuary advisory council primary and alternate members serve two-year terms.

All new members will be seated at the next council meeting.

The newly appointed advisory council members are as follows, by position:

* Education: Jennifer Barrett, Oahu; Judith Lemus, Oahu (alternate)

* Fishing: Rick Gaffney, Hawaii; Phil Fernandez, Hawaii (alternate)

* Hawaii County: Adam Pack, Hawaii

* Honolulu County: Roberts Leinau, Oahu (alternate)

* Kauai County: George Thompson, Kauai; Nina Monasevitch, Kauai (alternate)

* Maui County: Robin Newbold, Maui; Johanna Kamaunu, Maui (alternate)

* Native Hawaiian: Trisha K. Watson, Oahu; Matthew Sproat, Oahu (alternate)

* Research: John “Jack” Kittinger, Oahu

* Youth: Taylor Heckman, Oahu

Other non-governmental council seats with members continuing terms represent business/commerce, citizen-at-large, commercial shipping, conservation, Lanai and Molokai islands, ocean recreation, tourism and whale watching.

“The Sanctuary Advisory Council connects community and stakeholder groups with the sanctuary management team,” said Malia Chow, sanctuary superintendent. “It serves a very important role in helping to engage communities as we continue our management plan review process.”

Established in 1996, the Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council provides advice and recommendations on managing and protecting the sanctuary.

The council is composed of government and non-governmental seats for a total of 53 representatives.

The sanctuary is administered by a partnership of NOAA’s Office of National Marine Sanctuaries and the state through the Department of Land and Natural Resources (DLNR).

The sanctuary works to protect humpback whales through research, education, conservation and stewardship.

— Find out more:
Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary:
NOAA Office of National Marine Sanctuaries:
Department of Land and Natural Resources:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.