Categorized | News

Governor announces nominees to Land Board, Water Commission


Gov. Neil Abercrombie has announced the nominations of James A. Gomes to the Board of Land and Natural Resources (BLNR) and Kamanamaikalani Beamer, Ph.D. and Milton D. Pavao to the Commission of Water Resource Management (CWRM).

Their 4-year terms are effective July 1, 2013, subject to state Senate confirmation.

“Each of these nominees are not only accomplished in their respective fields and occupations; they are also deeply invested to the future of these islands and our natural resources,” Abercrombie said. “I have the utmost confidence in their ability to serve the people of Hawaii in the responsible management of our land and water resources, which are critical to the future security and vitality of our state.”

James A. Gomes is the operation manager for Ulupalakua Ranch Ltd. He has served on the Maui County Liquor Commission since 2000, including as vice-chairman and chairman; on the board of the Maui Cattlemen’s Association since 2006; and as director of the Central Maui Soil and Water Conservation District since 2007 (recently re-elected to serve a 5-year term).

Previously, he served as director of Wailuku Mill Yard, a member of Mayor James Apana’s Community Advisory Board, and a delegate to the Hawaii Cattlemen’s Council. Gomes earned a liberal arts degree at UH Maui College.

Born on Maui, he is a resident of Kula.

“Kamana” Beamer is the director of the First Nations Futures Program and an assistant professor at the University of Hawaii Hawaiinuiakea School of Hawaiian Knowledge and William S. Richardson School of Law.

A graduate of Kamehameha Schools, Beamer is fluent in Hawaiian language and earned bachelor’s degrees (double major) in Hawaiian Studies and Philosophy as well as a master’s degree and Ph.D. in geography at the University of Hawaii. Beamer also earned an associate’s degree from Marymount College and a First Nations Futures Institute Certificate from Stanford University.

Beamer is a resident of Oahu and Hawaii Island.

Milton D. Pavao retired in 2011 as manager and chief engineer for the Hawaii County Department of Water Supply. He is a licensed professional engineer and earned the Engineer of the Year Award in 1999 from the Hawaii Society of Professional Engineers.

He is also the co-founder of the Kona Water Roundtable. Pavao earned a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from the University of Hawaii.

He is a resident of Keaau.

The BLNR is composed of seven members, three at-large and one from each of the State of Hawaii’s four land districts. CWRM consists of seven members with five members appointed by the governor.

The chairperson of the BLNR serves as the CWRM chairperson, and the Director of Health serves as an ex officio voting member.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: