Categorized | Baseball, Sports

Baseball: Waiakea wins Division I state title

Hawaii 24/7 Staff

Waiakea won its first state baseball title Friday evening on Oahu, taking out Baldwin, 5-2.

Waiakea stand-out pitcher Quintin Torres-Costa led his team to the Division I crown by shutting down the Baldwin bats. Torres-Costa struck out 13 batters, including a run of 12 straight strike outs.

Torres-Costa eventually had to leave the game after 6 innings, when he reached the pitch limit. His remarkable effort in the state championship game capped an excellent week for Torres-Costa and earned him the Division I All-Tournament Most Outstanding Player award.

While Torres-Costa was ruling the defense, his teammates took advantage of three Baldwin errors in the 4th inning and added another run in 5th inning.

The Big Island Interscholastic Federation champion finished the season undefeated (20-0) under coach Kevin Yee.

In other Division I action, Hilo rolled over Pearl City, 9-8, for third place and

In Division II, No. 2 Waipahu clipped No. 1 Waimea, 1-0, to win the state crown.

Kamehameha Schools Hawaii lost 12-3 to Maryknoll and had to settle for fourth place overall.

In the Division II consolation bracket, Konawaena romped over Waialua, 15-0, to take fifth place overall.

The 54th Annual DataHouse/HHSAA Baseball State Championships
May 8 (Division I) and May 9 (DII) through May 11, 2012
Les Murakami Stadium, Hans L’Orange Field and Iolani School

Division I All-Tournament Team

INF – Chayce Kaaua, Hilo
INF – Brandon Kaupe, Baldwin
INF – Korin Medeiros, Waiakea
INF – Tyler Tokunaga, Pearl City
OF – Eric Akamine, Castle
OF – Tanner Tokunaga, Pearl City
OF – Kea Vierra, Kailua
C – Kean Wong, Waiakea
P – Quintin Torres-Costa, Waiakea
U – Sumi Pruett, Pearl City
U – Kodi Medeiros, Waiakea

Most Outstanding Player – Quintin Torres-Costa, Waiakea

Division II All-Tournament Team

1B – Brock Ephan, Waimea
2B – Micah Luke, Waipahu
3B – Bronson Pulgados, Kamehameha-Hawaii
SS – Kaelen Hirashiki, Maryknoll
OF – Jed Andrade, Maryknoll
OF – Dominic Morris, Konawaena
OF – Dylan Sugimoto, Waipahu
C – Keanu Dudoit-Isa, Kamehameha-Hawaii
P – Mikeo Rita, Waimea
DH – Matapua Tulafale, Waipahu
U – Drake Yoshioka, Waipahu
U – Bj Freitas, Waimea

Most Outstanding Player – Drake Yoshioka, Waipahu

— Find out more:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.