Categorized | Multi-sport, Sports

Ironman wins 16th Emmy Award


The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences has announced the winners of the 33rd Annual Sports Emmy Awards and NBC’s coverage of the Ironman World Championship took the award for Outstanding Camera Work.

That’s the 16th Emmy award the show has received since it moved to NBC and became a standalone program.

“These awards reflect the hard work and dedication of a fantastic production team,” says Peter Henning, who produced the show as the Senior Vice President of television production for Ironman. “However, without the unbelievable cooperation of the dedicated athletes, volunteers and Ironman team who continue to demonstrate a quest for excellence, none of this would be possible.”

Henning is no stranger to the Emmys – he has won 19 Emmy awards during his illustrious career not only for his work with Ironman, but also for his coverage of the Iditarod dog sled race, the 1976 Olympic Games, and the Eco Challenge, along with his work on a variety of shows including American Sportsman and Wide World of Sports.

Earning the Outstanding Camera Work Emmy were:

Jim Bowen, Chris Chanda, David Finch, Matthew Franklin, David Blue Garcia, Kevin Garrison, Michael Graber, Daryl Hackett, Peter R. Henning, Sean Kane, Craig Musberger, Scott Ogle, Greg Peterson, Robert Porter, Scott Simper, Terry Stewart, Robert Stookey, Nick Villani, Wilson Waggoner, Sam Winslade and Ken Woo.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



%d bloggers like this: