Categorized | News

Judicial Selection Commission now accepting applications


U.S. Sens. Daniel K. Inouye and Daniel K. Akaka have initiated the nine-member Hawaii Federal Judicial Selection Commission, established in July 2006, to make recommendations of qualified applicants for the U.S. District Court seat being vacated by Judge David Ezra at the end of June.

“Judge Ezra has done a fine job on the federal bench over the past 24 years. He has served with integrity, and has thoughtfully interpreted and upheld the rule of law. His leadership will be missed,” Akaka said.

In light of Ezra’s retirement announcement, the senators have called the commission to action, beginning with respected attorney and long-time advocate of merit judicial selection, Larry Okinaga, as the chairman.

The other eight members are:
* Bennette Misalucha
* Lynn Fallin
* Allen Hoe
* Donavan Kealoha
* Janice Kim
* Retired Judge Marie Milks
* Jeff Sia
* Tony Takitani

“The purpose of the commission is to help ensure a strong, independent, and qualified federal judiciary, and to provide a fair process for selecting nominees with the highest professional qualifications and attributes,” Inouye said.

Inouye and Akaka said they expect a robust and diverse pool of lawyers to apply, and look forward to ultimately receiving a stellar list of outstanding candidates from which they will make their selections, and will forward it to the White House for consideration.

Nomination and application forms are available for download or by writing to the Commission at the address below. All names and completed application forms submitted to the Commission will be kept confidential by the Commission and must be delivered or mailed to the following address no later than Monday, April 2, 2012.

Hawaii Federal Judicial Selection Commission
Suite 2100, ASB Tower
1001 Bishop Street
Honolulu, HI 96813

— Find out more:

Click to access hfjsc2012application.pdf

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.