Categorized | Education, News

East Hawaii Hiroshima Kenjin Kai offers scholarships and elects new officers

Hawaii County Mayor Billy Kenoi presents the oath of office to the new officers and directors of the East Hawaii Hiroshima Kenjin Kai.

Hawaii County Mayor Billy Kenoi presents the oath of office to the new officers and directors of the East Hawaii Hiroshima Kenjin Kai.


The East Hawaii Hiroshima Kenjin Kai is offering two $1,000 scholarships to graduating seniors who plan to continue their post high school education this fall. Applicants must be a senior at any East Hawaii public high school and must enroll at any accredited college or university for the 2012-2013 academic years.

Application forms and instructions are available at the counselor’s office at East Hawaii public high schools. Deadline for the 2012 scholarships is April 14; forms must be postmarked by this date.

The Kenjin Kai also elected officers and directors for the 2012-2013 year at its recent 45th Annual Meeting and New Year’s Shinnenkai luncheon held on February 19. Immediate Past President Kenneth Ikemori passed the president’s gavel to Elected President Delbert Nishimoto. County of Hawaii Mayor Billy Kenoi presented the oath of office to the following officers and directors:: Delbert Nishimoto, president; Eugene Nishimura, first vice president; Thomas Goya, second vice president; Beatrice Isemoto, third vice president; Helen Benevides, fourth vice president; Russell Kaneko, fifth vice president; Motoe Tada, Japanese secretary; Patsy Iwasaki, assistant secretary; Byron Toma, English secretary; Edwin Hara, assistant secretary; Joni Onishi, treasurer; Lillian Watanabe, assistant secretary; Charles Takahashi, Albert Idemoto, Ronald Kurokawa, Russell Kaneko, George Shigenaga and Byron Toma, auditors; and Sadao Aoki, Kenneth Enoki, Arnold Hara, Hardy Iida, Beatrice Isemoto, Sadaichi Kakugawa, Masao Kobayashi, Dr. Herbert Marutani, Akiko Masuda, Warren Nishimura, Takako Niimi, Russell Oda, Hiroshia Ota, Sue Ota, Robert Okinaka, Royden Okunami, Takumi Shirakawa, Lloyd Tada, Clifton Tsuji, Bernice Tomiyama, Akira Watanabe, Harold Uyeno, Yoshio Takemoto, Brian Iwata, Thomas Goya, Lily Kuroyama, Wilma Kawasaka, Gale Takeya, Gilbert Dakujaku and Lillie Tsuchiya, directors.

“This will be an exciting year of the dragon with many activities. One highlight will be the Physician’s Visit Program,” said Nishimoto, of the week long visit by University of Hiroshima Medical Hospital physicians who will conduct physical exams of descendants of Hiroshima Prefecture immigrants. The exams will be conducted at the end of July and the data will help the University of Hiroshima in its ongoing medical immigrant research. For more information on the exams, please contact Delbert Nishimoto at 935-8719.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RSS Weather Alerts

  • An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.