Categorized | Sports

UH-Hilo earns PacWest honors for 56 athletes


Fifty-six University of Hawaii at Hilo student/athletes earned 2010-11 Academic all-Pacific West Conference recognition.

Baseball had eight players on the list – Dan Hennigs, Casey Koizumi, Garrett Micheels, Sheldon Otsuka, Daniel Reitz, Joshua Wong, Seamus Yoneshige and Colin Zimmermann.

Men’s basketball had four – Jimmy Lefebvre, Joshua Morgan, Vince Sanekane and Zachary Wilde.

Women’s basketball had four – Lindsay Cartwright, Leesa Deniz, Kirsty Imai and Dayna Jandoc.

Women’s cross country had three – Kirsta Andrew, Liliana DeSmither and Kaylene Peric.

Men’s golf had three – Christopher Armanini, Corey Koizumi and Bronzen Winters.

Men’s soccer had eight – Eduardo Ayala, Kevin Bruce, George Ichimaru, Gabriel Kallen-Brown, Dane Kaylor, Ruben Romero, Christian Solo and Gerald Walsh.

Women’s soccer had eight – Vanessa Butin, Lauren Grace-Finley, Emily Lambert, Lauren Minami, Chloe Nishioka, Kelly Parker, Lindsey Poulson and Lianne Yamane.

Softball had eight – Bryanna Hardy, Emily Heinemann, Amanda Nazario, Jessca Pepin, Asha Prithviraj, Emmily Soumountha, Aisha Sueda and Amber Waracka.

Women’s tennis had eight – Kelsey Daguio, Jenna DeCleene, Alea Marie Dugan, Stacey Grant, Anna Hamlin, Morrisa Kahakui, Janellle Ng and Lindsey Shin.

Volleyball had five – Patricia Blasco Vine, Kaycie Jyo, Kelia Parrilla, Katie Swenson and Rachael Thornquist.

To qualify for the award, a student/athlete must have a cumulative 3.0 grade point average on a conference sponsored sport.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.