Categorized | Featured, Government, News, Videos

County redistricting hearing slated March 1

Video by David Corrigan | Voice of Stephanie Salazar | Big Island Video News

Karin Stanton | Hawaii 24/7 Editor

The Redistricting Commission is mandated to be in place by March 1, although the time and place have yet be determined.

The Council must approve the nine nominees – one for each of the island’s districts – before work can begin on reapportionment.

Because Mayor Billy Kenoi did not submit his nominees until Feb. 15, the Council has tacked on a special meeting to the regularly scheduled committee meetings March 1 to meet the deadline.

Nominees to the Redistricting Commission are:

District 1 – Valerie T. Poindexter
District 2 – Jeffrey M. Melrose
District 3 – John “Mike” Middlesworth
District 4 – Patrick L. Kahawaiolaa
District 5 – Rene Siracusa
District 6 – Linda Ugalde
District 7 – Susan Maddox
District 8 – Dru Kanuha
District 9 – Peter L. Hendricks

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RSS Weather Alerts

  • An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.