Categorized | Entertainment

Target releases free holiday soundtrack


Target is helping its guests get into the swing of the holiday season – for free. The retailer has partnered with a variety of musical artists to create “The Christmas Gig,” an exclusive album of original holiday tracks available for free download at the Target website.

Select tracks from the collection will also be featured in Target’s holiday advertising.

“Music is a wonderful part of the holidays and Target is excited to partner with such a talented roster of artists to create an album that captures the spirit of the season,” said Shawn Gensch, vice president of marketing. “Many of these modern-day Christmas tunes will be featured in Target’s holiday commercials and we hope our guests will enjoy this special gift as they celebrate the holidays.”

Select tracks from “The Christmas Gig” are available for live streaming. The entire soundtrack was made available for free download beginning Nov. 28. Eight of the tracks will be featured in Target’s holiday television advertising, which began airing Thanksgiving weekend.

Each of the songs captures a holiday experience as told from the perspective of a contemporary artist. The collection is an eclectic mix of music that includes country, folk, hip-hop, Latin, and pop.

“A lot of our favorite bands have written great Christmas songs. So when Target asked us to do this project it gave us a good reason to finally write one of our own,” said Rob Barbato, bassist and vocalist of Darker My Love.

Tracks on “The Christmas Gig” album include:
* “Tiny Tree Christmas” by Guster
* “Toy Jackpot” by Blackalicious
* “Snow Is Falling” by Darker My Love
* “Perfect Gift” by Natalie Hemby
* “10,000 Watts” by Crystal Antlers
* “You’ll Never Find My Christmas” by Bishop Allen
* “Get Down for the Holidays” by Jenny O.
* “Mrs. Claus Ain’t Got Nothin’ On Me” by Little Jackie
* “Electronic Santa” by Bret McKenzie
* “Got Something for You” by Best Coast/Wavves
* “It’s Christmas” by Coconut Records
* “Party Hard” by Little Isidore
* “Super Mama” by The Pinker Tones
* “Un Regalo Para Mi” by Ceci Bastida

In addition to downloading tracks for free, guests can:

* Download an embeddable music player for live streaming of the music collection.
* Preview band photos and read band bios.
* Share music via Facebook, Twitter and E-mail using mobile devices and the free Target iPad app.
* Guests can download the Target iPad app at or from the iTunes App Store.

Minneapolis-based Target Corporation (NYSE:TGT) serves guests at 1,752 stores in 49 states nationwide and at In addition, the company operates a credit card segment that offers branded proprietary credit card products.

Since 1946, Target has given 5 percent of its income through community grants and programs; today, that giving equals more than $3 million a week.

For more information about Target’s commitment to corporate responsibility, visit

To download the holiday album, visit

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RSS Weather Alerts

  • An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.