Categorized | Featured, Health

Holschuh named 2010 Physician of the Year

Dr. Fred Holschuh was honored as the Hawaii County Medical Society’s 2010 Physician of the Year. With him are Dr. Joanne Sarubbi and Dr. Richard Lee-Ching. (Photo courtesy of Jeff Ikeda)

Special to Hawaii 24/7 by Elena Cabatu | Community Relations Manager Hilo Medical Center

There was much to celebrate at the Hilo Medical Center Foundation’s eighth annual Wine, Cheese, Chocolates and MORE! event earlier this month.

The Hawaii County Medical Society announced long-time emergency room physician, Dr. Fred Holschuh as the “2010 Physician of the Year” and the Hilo Medical Center Foundation also welcomed several new physicians.

The Hilo Hawaiian’s Moku Ola Room was filled to capacity when Hawaii County Medical Society’s chairwoman, Dr. Joanne Sarubbi, and East Hawaii Independent Physicians Association’s president, Dr. Richard Lee-Ching, presented Holschuh with his award.

Holschuh, co-founder of Hawaii Emergency Physicians Association, described his 30-year career in emergency medicine as a “privilege” and thanked his wife, Diane, for being his “greatest supporter” and “backbone” of his career.

“I shall always be grateful to my medical colleagues both in the Emergency Room and the community,” he said. “Many thanks also to the police, civil defense and the fire department, especially the rescue personnel.”

He added: “Our nursing staff in the Emergency Room and the hospital was the best, as was everyone involved with patient care – the clerks, telephone operators, security, x-ray, lab, EKG, housekeeping and everyone else that makes a hospital work. No one could ever have had such a fulfilling career without the invaluable assistance of all of you.”

The evening continued with Hilo Medical Center Foundation Trustee and Emergency Department Physician, Dr. Steve Morrison, welcoming new physicians to Hilo.

Those present included: Dr. Ted Peskin, medical director for Acute Care of Hilo Medical Center and gynecologist at the Hawaii Island Family Health Center; Dr. Jay Lai, family medicine at Hawaii Island Family Health Center; Dr. William Herrera, neurologist at Hilo Medical Center’s Neurology Clinic; Dr. Kimble Poon, cardiologist at Hilo Medical Center’s Cardiology Clinic; Dr. Raymond Imatani, orthopedist at Hilo Medical Center’s Orthopedic Clinic; Dr. Craig Winkler, internal medicine with TeamHealth; Dr. Fatima Phillips, medical director of Bay Clinic; Dr. Steven Warsh of Urgent Care – Hilo; Dr. Francis Cavanaugh, internal medicine at Kaiser Permanente; and Dr. Mary Le, family medicine at Urgent Care – Keaau.

“So many times we hear about the physician shortage in the state,” said Lori Rogers, executive director of the Hilo Medical Center Foundation. “It makes it all the more important to take a moment and celebrate the physicians who have chosen to care for our community.”

The Hilo Medical Center Foundation’s next event is the cruise ship luncheon Dec. 14 aboard the Norwegian Cruise Line’s Pride of America.

The hospital foundation welcomed doctors Poon, Peskin, Warsh, Cavanaugh and Phillips. (Photo courtesy of Jeff Ikeda)

One Response to “Holschuh named 2010 Physician of the Year”

  1. warren krauss says:

    The Class of 58 congratulates you!
    You rascal, you look too young.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Become a fan on facebook


%d bloggers like this: