Categorized | Agriculture

Drought prompts statewide agricultural disaster zone declaration


U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Thomas Vilsack has designated all four Hawaii counties as agricultural disaster areas due to losses caused by this year’s drought.

A secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators and producers in both primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for Farm Service Agency emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program, said Congresswoman Mazie Hirono.

The Farm Service Agency will consider each emergency loan application on its own merit by taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loan assistance.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture also reminds island ranchers the Livestock Indemnity Program remains available for producer losses.

For more information on these federal programs, contact your county USDA Farm Service Agency office:

* USDA Farm Service Agency – Oahu
(808) 441-2704

* USDA Farm Service Agency – Hawaii Island
(808) 933-8381 Ext. 2

* USDA Farm Service Agency – Kauai
(808) 245-9014 Ext. 353

* USDA Farm Service Agency – Maui
(808) 871-5500 Ext. 2

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: