Categorized | Entertainment, Featured

Big Island Film Festival 2010 winners

Pomaikai Brown and Mayor Billy Kenoi celebrate Brown's success at the Big Island Film Festival. (Photo courtesy of BIFF)


A made-in-Hawaii movie starring the Big Island’s own Pomaikai Brown has won the 2010 Audience Choice Feature of Big Island Film Festival (BIFF). The Award was presented at The BIFF Golden Honu Awards Brunch Sunday morning at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii.

Mayor Billy Kenoi also presented Brown, who appeared with Adam Sandler in “50 First Dates,” with the first-ever Mayor’s “Spirit of Hawaii” Award for the film or filmmaker that best embodies the spirit and values of the people of Hawaii.

“Aloha Daze,” from Indie Kine Films, screened Sunday to a large audience, following John Cruz in concert, at The Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Hale Hoaloha Pavilion, emceed by G. Cruz from KWXX radio.

Also shown were Audience Choice Short “Deface” and “The Legend of Chang Apana,” whose producer and star Cary Hiroyuki Tagawa was on hand to receive a special Hookana Award from BIFF. Tagawa announced his commitment to return and support the Big Island Film Festival in 2011 and beyond.

The drama “Charlie Valentine” from American Media Group, won Best Feature, which veteran actor and Hollywood star Tom Berenger accepted on behalf of the producers.

Berenger, who was an active participant in BIFF 2010, earlier received a Golden Honu Award for Acting and regaled the audience at The Shops at Mauna Lani Stage with vivid stories about his career.

In all 66 films were screened, from across the country and around the world, including 10 foreign films and 10 made in Hawaii.

Founder/Executive Producer Leo Sears said, “This year exceeded our expectations in so many ways and we are very grateful to all the people and organizations who helped make it happen. We hope everyone comes back next year to enjoy more great films, and we know with your support we will continue to grow and get better and better in the years ahead.”

The Big Island “Talk Story” Film Festival would like to thank sponsors: Hawaii Tourism Authority—Hawaii County Research & Development CPEP, The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, The Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows, The Shops at Mauna Lani, Tommy Bahama’s Restaurant & Bar, Monstera Noodles and Sushi, Kenwood Vineyards, Redeeming Light International, Inc., MovieMaker, Indie Slate, This Week and Ke Ola Magazines, WithoutaBox, Audio Visual Services Hawaii, Showbiz Store & Café, KWXX, Dollar Rent A Car, Kids First Film Festival, West Hawaii Today and North Hawaii News.

Big Island Film Festival 2010 Awards:

Audience Choice Short
“Deface” – Painting Pictures; Producer/Director/Writer John Arlotto

Audience Choice Feature
“Aloha Daze” – Indie Kine Films, LLC; Producer Kim Spanoghe, Dante Parducci, Kimberly Binning; Director/Writer Dante Parducci

Best Animated Short
“Summer” – Firewater films, Director/Writer, Marc Wiskermann

Best Student Short
“Lucky Lotus” – American Film Institute, Producer Norie Ochiai, Norma Mallin, William Mallin, Jacqueline Tambunting; Director Ken Ochiai; Writer Cara Fason

Best Foreign Short
“An Affair with Dolls” – Cinemantrix, Director/Writer Hans Montelius

Best Family Short
“Official Selection” – Reel Vision Films, Producer Vince Masciale, David Sinatra, Keith Cox, Natalie Masciale; Director Vince Masciale; Writer Ryan Self

Best Hawaii Short
“Ajumma! Are You Krazy?” – Brent Anbe Productions, LLC; Producer Brent Anbe, Ashley Smith, Laurie Foi; Director/Writer Brent Anbe

Best Short
“Your Lucky Day” – Poducer Nathan F. Barr, Thai Tran, Lacey Leavitt; Director Dan Brown,Writer Dan Brown

Best Foreign Feature
“Broken Hill” – Audience Alliance Motion Picture Studio; Producer Chris Wyatt and Julie Ryan; Director/Writer Dagen Merrill

Best Family Feature
“Finn on the Fly” – Amaze Film & Television; Producer Michael Souther, Teza Lawrence, Stephen Onda; Director Mark Jean; Writer Mark Jean, Michael Souther, Teza Lawrence, Kellie Ann Benz

The Barbara Award for films celebrating children
“About the Keiki” – ACM-University of Hawaii at Manoa; Producer Paulo Kobayashi, Felicita Garrido, Prof. George Wang; Director/Writer Felicita Garrido

Best Feature
“Charlie Valentine” – American Media Group; Producer Bill J. Gottlieb, Ed Robin, Ray Cavaleri, Ted Warren

Mayor’s “Spirit of Hawaii” Award, presented by Mayor Billy Kenoi
Pomaikai Brown – “Aloha Daze”

BIFF Hookana Award
Cary Hiroyuki Tagawa

Golden Honu Award for Filmmaking, sponsored by Hawaii Island Film Office
Scott Stewart

Golden Honu Award for Acting, sponsored by Hawaii Island Film Office
Tom Berenger

Winners at the Big Island Film Festival 2010. (Photo courtesy BIFF)

— Find out more:

One Response to “Big Island Film Festival 2010 winners”

  1. Damon says:

    Nice pics ;)


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: