Categorized | Education

Parker School debate team wins Sweepstakes Trophy

Parker School debate team 2010


The Parker School Debate Team finished first Feb. 12-13 at the Iolani Debate Qualifying Tournament on Oahu.

This is another remarkable accomplishment by the Parker team, as they were the smallest among the 14 schools competing in the tournament. Parker School finished with 29 points, followed by Punahou with 27 and Kamehameha with 24 team sweepstakes points.

Eight Parker School debaters: Hayden Cross, Jesse Tarnas, Cara Nair, Sierra Manker, Kimo Hon, Elliott Warkus, Olivia Armandroff and Daniel Gregg qualified for States as a result of the tournament.

They join 11 of their Parker School teammates who qualified at previous tournaments, bringing to 19 the total number of Parker School members competing in the State Forensic Championship at Punahou School in April.

High finishers for Parker School were Aidan Wharton and Paul Gregg who placed first in Junior Varsity Policy Debate, Jenna Gerdsen and Corey Patton who placed first in Public Forum Debate, Annie Sturges and Mary Kamitaki who placed second in Varsity Policy Debate, Hayden Cross was second in the Novice Lincoln-Douglas Debate, and Jesse Tarnas placed second in Championship Lincoln-Douglas Debate.

The team is coached by Parker School Headmaster Carl Sturges.

— Find out more:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



Become a fan on facebook



%d bloggers like this: