Categorized | Education

Candidates from community colleges selected for leadership development program

UH Community Colleges Leadership Champions named


uh-systemHONOLULU – The University of Hawaiʻi Community Colleges (UHCC) has selected its 6th Generation to its Community Colleges Leadership Champions (CCLC) program. The leadership development program was established six years ago through the generosity of the Joyce S. Tsunoda UHCC Leadership Development Endowment Fund to nurture leadership by growing leaders from within and to identify, encourage, develop and support the next generation of community college leadership.

A candidate from each of the community college’s seven campuses is selected by their college for the 18-month-long program. The CCLC 6th Generation includes:

  • Ryan Daniels, Maui Community College
  • Sherri Fujita, Hawaiʻi Community College
  • Sandra Hoshino, Leeward Community College
  • Kristine Korey-Smith, Kapiʻolani Community College
  • Carla Rogers, Windward Community College
  • Calvin Shirai, Kauaʻi Community College
  • Preshess Willets-Vaquilar, Honolulu Community College

Kauaʻi Community College Chancellor Helen Cox presides as the lead mentor for the program.

Candidates for the program may be any faculty, staff or administrator currently employed by a UH community college campus who has demonstrated leadership potential, working for the greater good, and who desires to pursue personal and professional development in community college leadership. These leaders represent liberal arts, career and technical programs, continuing education and training, student services, and administrative services.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: