Categorized | Education, Health, News

Boys and Girls Club of the Big Island appoints chief professional officer


HILO, HAWAII JULY 1, 2009: The Boys and Girls Club of the Big Island named George Kalani Silva as its next Chief Professional Officer.

Silva has extensive experience working with youth and youth-oriented programs in Hawaii. A native of the Island of Hawaii, Silva is the co-founder and President of Hawaii Warriors Athletics, a 501(c)3 non profit organization formed to assist young athletes in skill development, positive values, leadership skills and developing strong work ethics. He has coached girls basketball at Kamehameha Schools and worked with the boys basketball program as assistant coach and JV coach at Kamehameha Schools and Waiakea High School.

A graduate of Seattle Pacific University, and a CPA, Silva has served as Board Chair and Chief Financial Officer of Tardus Wealth Strategies. Before moving to Tardus, Silva was vice president and partner with Dolan, Silva and Associates, CPA in Hilo.

The Boys & Girls Club of the Big Island is the Big Island of Hawaii’s premier youth development organization, A 501 (C) 3 non-profit organization, and an affiliate of the national organization, Boys & Girls Clubs of America. The first Club in Hawaii opened its doors in 1952 as the Boys Club of Hilo, was originally located on Kamehameha Avenue, and destroyed by the 1960 tidal wave. The current facility is adjacent to Haili Street, in historic downtown Hilo. In 1988 girls were welcomed as members, thus giving the Club a new name, The Boys and Girls Club of Hilo. Since its inception the Club has serviced over 50,000 youth and currently serves 1,200 active members in Hilo, Kea’au, Pahoa, Pahala, Oceanview, and Hamakua. For an annual membership fee of $10, youth ages six through 18 are welcomed to join.

The Club also named its directors for 2009 – 2010 as follows: Bill Walter – Chief Volunteer Officer, Toby Taniguchi- CVO Elect, Donn Mende – Treasurer, Newton Chu – Secretary, Ivan Nakano – Immediate Past CVO, Warren Lee, Rhea Lee, Russell Chin, Fred Blas, Russell Hayashi, Randy Kurohara, Bill Takaba, Barbara A. Hastings, Julia Neal, Mitch Roth, Bonnie Geiger, Mike Gleason, Akira Watanabe, and Wayne Yamauchi.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



Become a fan on facebook



%d bloggers like this: