Categorized | Entertainment

32nd Na Hoku Hanohano winners include Keawe

John Keawe performing in Holualoa during the Music and Light Festival December 6, 2008.

Winners at Wednesday night’s 32nd Na Hoku Hanohano awards:

Slack Key Album of the Year “Hawaii Island.. Is My Home” John Keawe (Homestead)

Group: Holunape, “Ahea? Ano!” (Roy Sakuma)

Female vocalist: Natalie Ai Kamauu, “I”

Male vocalist: Kaumakaiwa Kanakaole, “Kaumakaiwa” (Mountain Apple)

Most promising artist: Kuipaoa, “Pili O Ke Ao” (Kupaoa)

Favorite entertainer: Led Kaapana and Mike Kaawa, “Force of Nature” (Jus Press)

Song of the year: “Island Days,” Pali T.W. Kaaihue from ” … With Aloha” (PK)

Album of the year: ” … With Aloha,” Pali (PK); D.J. Pratt, Pali Kaaihue, producers

Compilation album: “Hawaiian Slack Key Kings Master Series Vol. II,” various artists (Rhythm and Roots); Chris Lau, Milton Lau, producers

Religious album: “All For One,” Del Beazley (Mountain Apple)

Contemporary album: “Aumakua,” Amy Hanaialii (Ua)

Anthology: “Unforgettable,” Israel Kamakawiwoole and the Makaha Sons of Niihau (Poki); Tim Mathre, Kata Maduli, Lea Uyehara, producers

R&B/Hip Hop album: “Reborn,” A Touch of Gold (Golden Boy)

Reggae album: “Nothing to Hide,” Rebel Souljahs

Island music album: ” … With Aloha,” Pali (PK)

Instrumental album: “Haleakala,” Jeff Peterson and Riley Lee (Peterson)

Hawaiian album: Holunape, “Ahea? Ano!” (Roy Sakuma)

Christmas album: “E Ola Ke Alii: The Na Kama Christmas Collection, Volume 1,” Na Kama (Makani)

Jazz album: “Tropic Rhapsody, ” Teresa Bright (Teresa Bright)

Rock album: “Many Classics, Kalapana Plays Their Best,” Kalapana (OTB)

Hawaiian language performance: Kaumakaiwa Kanaka’ole for “Kaumakaiwa” (Mountain Apple)

Haku Mele: “Joseph Brian Badis and Kellen Paik for “Uluwehikalunaokaala” from “Pili O Ke Ao” by Kupaoa

Music video DVD: “Kamehameha Schools 2008 Song Contest,” Kamehameha Schools (Mountain Apple)

Graphics (designer’s award): Stacey Leong Design for “‘Aina,” Peter Apo & the Rainbow Nation Band (Mamo)

Liner notes (annotators’ award): Puakea Nogelmeier, Fred Krauss and Keali’i Reichel for “Kamalei: Keali’i Reichel Collection — Two,” Keali’i Reichel (Punahele)

Engineering (studio engineers’ award): Milan Bertosa, D.J. Pratt and Gaylord Holomalia for “Many Classics, Kalapana Plays Their Best,” Kalapana (OTB)

Lifetime achievement: Cecilio and Kapono, The Sons of Hawaii, Keola and Kapono Beamer, the late John Piilani Watkins and the late George Jarrett Helm

Haku mele (composers’ award for first-time recorded Hawaiian-language song): Joseph Brian Badis and Kellen Paik for “Uluwehikalunaoka’ala” from “Pili o ke Ao,” Kupaoa (Kupaoa)

Ki Ho’alu Foundation Legacy Award: George Kahumoku Jr.

Moe Keale “Aloha Is” Award for Community Service: Brother Noland

HARA Special Industry Award: “Hawaii Calls”

One Response to “32nd Na Hoku Hanohano winners include Keawe”

  1. damon says:

    And look who’s wifes uncle won Entertainer of the Year With Mike!

    Maybe that’s where my son get’s his talent from.

    Follow Uncle on Twitter:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RSS Weather Alerts

  • An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.