Categorized | Entertainment

ACF holiday gala returns to Kona Village Resort


KAUPULEHU-KONA —Visions of sugarplums will dance in your head at Christmas at Kona Village, Dining with the Chefs 6-9 p.m. Friday, Dec. 5 at Kona Village Resort.

The holiday gala is presented by the American Culinary Federation (ACF) Kona-Kohala Chapter Chefs de Cuisine and marks its 20th year with tantalizing fare prepared by 20 top Hawaii chefs, a silent auction, island music by Nino Kaai of Kohala, and dancing under the stars by the Bora Bora Bar.

Debuting this year is a live auction of exclusive private dinners, a luncheon and lavish pupu parties — plus a signed and framed anniversary photo. Proceeds will fund local culinary educational endeavors and the Feeding Our Ohana program of the Hawaii Food Basket.

The beneficiary for the silent auction is Kona Community Hospital Foundation, which has received $40,000 from auction sales in the last five years. Monies raised from this year’s auction will go toward the $250,000 emergency room renovation project.

The Chefs de Cuisine fundraiser showcases the island’s top chefs preparing the “Flavors of Hawaii.” More than 20 chefs and confectioners will offer up tried-and-true island recipes using fresh local ingredients, as well as savory dishes, elegant desserts, mouthwatering confections, 100% Kona coffee, handcrafted ales and fine wines.

Choose from a trio of delicacies at the festive Poke Bar prepared by Executive Chef William Kaluakini Trask of the Keauhou Beach Resort. Sample the Savory Soy-Ginger Braised Short Rib with Wasabi Mashed Potato at Chef Daniel Thiebaut ‘s culinary station. 

Other participating chefs include:

* Chef Charles Charbonneau of the Hilton Waikoloa Village

* Chef James Babian of the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

* Chef Piet Wigmans of the Mauna Kea Beach and Hapuna Beach Prince Hotels

* Chef Chuck Gillis of The Faimont Orchid Hawaii

* Chef Edwin Goto of the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows

* Chef Mark Tsuchiyama of the Kona Village Resort

* Chef Mikel Lamb of the Royal Kona Resort

* Chef Eric Lelinski of the Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa

* Chef Sam Sapp of Hokulia

* Chef Chris Farley of Huggo’s

* Chef Darcy Ambrosio of Kawaihae Harbor Grill & Seafood Bar

* Chef Jackie Lau of Roy’s

* Chef Neil Murphy of Merriman’s

* Chef Casey Halpern of Café Pesto

* Devin Lowder of Makalii Catering

* Paul Heerlein of HCC.

Catering to the sweet tooth are Cocoa Outlet and The Chocolate Guy Hawaii, Kailua Candy Company, Tropical Dreams, Big Island Ice Cream and The Cake Rack of Kona.

In celebration of the event’s anniversary, 20-year participants will be honored at an awards presentation. They include Chef Vernon Wong, former board chairman of the Kona-Kohala Chefs de Cuisine; Fern Desilets, owner of Kona Wine Market; Jean Hull, CCE and hospitality consultant; the Kona Village Resort, The Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows, Better Brands and Paradise Beverage.

Attendance is limited to 500 and tickets are $85 per person. In addition, private tables of 10 with inside guaranteed seating overlooking the event is available for $1,000. Tickets are on sale at Kailua Candy Company and Clark Realty and may be charged by phoning 329-2522.  

— Find out more

Kona-Kohala Chefs de Cuisine:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.