Categorized | News

County inauguration set for Dec. 1


The inauguration for the newly elected mayor, council members, and prosecuting attorney is slated for noon, Monday, Dec. 1 at the Afook Chinen Civic Auditorium in Hilo. The public is invited to attend. 

The program will begin with a prelude of familiar selections chose by bandmaster Paul Arceo and the Hawaii County Band. The procession will be accompanied by the Hawaii County Band.  

The Administration of Oath will be administered by the Third Circuit Court Judge Ronald Ibarra. J.E. Orozco, morning air personality/marketing consultant with KBIG Radio will act as master of ceremonies. 

Addresses will be given by the Honorable Mayor Billy Kenoi, Honorable J Yoshimoto, Chairman of the Hawaii County Council, and prosecuting attorney Jay Kimura. 

The Kamehameha Schools Alumni Chorus, Mamalahoe Chapter will perform musical rendering.  The national and state anthems will be performed by Pam Ahuna accompanied by the Hawaii County Band.  Invocation by Minister Earl Ikeda, Puna Hongwanji Mission and the benediction by Kahu Daniel K. Akaka. 

Refreshments will be served. 

Taking office are:

Mayor: Billy Kenoi

Council District 1: Dominic Yagong, Hamakua

Council District 2: Donald Ikeda, Hilo

Council District 3: J Yoshimoto, Hilo, Chairman

Council District 4: Dennis Onishi, Hilo

Council District 5: Emily Naeole, Puna

Council District 6: Guy Enriques, Ka’u

Council District 7: Brenda Ford, South Kona

Council District 8: Kelly Greenwell, North Kona

Council District 9: Pete Hoffmann, Kohala, Vice Chairman

Prosecuting Attorney: Jay Kimura

— Find out more:

Hawaii County:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RSS Weather Alerts

  • An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.